Free Agent Outfielders to Pick Up (5.27.09)

Gary Sheffield (New York Mets)– Sheffield will look to be the second or third best run producer in a Mets lineup that can’t seem to stay healthy. He is hitting .357 in the month of May and his power is beginning to come around having hit 3 homers in his last 6 games. Sheff is also sporting a great .965 OPS and would make a great addition on many fantasy teams. He is owned by just 15% of yahoo players so I would pick him up immediately. 

No one denies the effort, but the numbers need to follow.

No one denies Rowand's effort, but the numbers need to follow.

Aaron Rowand (San Francisco Giants)– Has had a rather pedestrian start to the 2009 season and given his low power numbers to start, he has fallen off many fantasy player’s radar. However, he seems to have found his power stroke as of late and could put together a nice season as he gives a combo of power and the ability to drive in runs. Only owned in 7% of leagues, you should definitely give him a look. 

Cody Ross (Florida Marlins)– Had a pretty good season last year but started this year just flat out awful. Within the month of May he has raised his batting average almost 40 points (.217 in April; .288 in May). He supplies a decent amount of power and can get a solid amount of RBI’s. 20-25 homers and 90 RBI’s are still well within reach for this guy. 

Jonny Gomes (Cincinnati Reds)– The ex-Tampa Bay slugger has finally made his way back to the Majors. He is splitting time with Laynce Nix and if he continues to hit, could see plenty more AB’s. Back in ’07 he hit 17 homers in just 107 games so he has the ability to hit the long ball and he will also be playing in a hitters ball park (Great American). If Cincy can get him to stay patient at the plate (172/50 K:BB ration in last 184 games with Tampa) then he will hit for a healthy average and continue to drive in runs.

One Response to Free Agent Outfielders to Pick Up (5.27.09)

  1. Bill says:

    Hey nice blog I appreciate the help, I’m looking for some pitching strategy/advice I am in a h2h 12 team mixed league. I decided to ignore the saves category all together. I have some horses on my roster in Lincecum, Haren, Billingsley, also I hit on a few mid to deep round selections with Eric Bedard and Johnny Cueto.

    Rounding out my rotation I have a lot of marginal prospects, with Max Scherzer being the most promising, I also start Jordan Zimmerman, Sean Marshall, Matt Harrison… I recently dropped Matt Palmer and Manny Parra. I generally always win the K category, and usually win or tie the W category, where I am having trouble is in the e.r.a and whip categories and obviously saves. My question is should I get rid of some of my marginal SP prospects in favour of non-closing relievers with strong stats/peripherals (whip, era and K/ per 9inning) like Ramon Ramirez, Matt Guerrier, Mark Difelice, Joel Zumaya?

Leave a Reply

